top of page
Search

What is my why?


If you Google my name these days, you’ll see that I am a man who is visibly public individual on social media. Many people would make assumptions about me based on what they see (some may be true some may not be). But make no mistake that I am someone that is very opinionated, especially living in a city that is not very shy on sharing its opinions on all things sports.


My story as to how I ended up in Boston is a very interesting one (one that I will share in a future blog). My story as to how I made the choice of pursuing my passion and dream of pursuing my dreams of breaking into the sports media & broadcasting industry is a fascinating one, one that may inspire you to pursue your passions in life whatever that may be.


Let me start of by introducing myself to the general masses out there: My name is Shukri Wrights. I am a sports radio broadcaster, hockey writer, blogger, Play-by-Play broadcaster, and podcaster.

I also am intensely passionate about my career, my ambitions, my thoughts on life, sports, and the world we live in. I’m not concerned about whether people like me, whether people agree with me or not. I’m more concerned about impacting people through my career and breaking into an industry that is so competitive and often times tough to break into especially in the best sports city in the United State that is Boston.

Boston is an incredible city, an incredible market to begin my sports broadcasting career in and I have many to thank for their support in my journey. One thing that I have realized along the way is anytime you take a leap of faith in anything there is going to be trials & tribulations you are going to have to endure and overcome. Make no mistake about it, I’ve had my fair share.


Everyone must have a “why” for what is the reason why the get up in the morning. A “why” as the reason why they chose to rise up and grind regardless of whatever they may be passionate about in life. I found my “why” at a very young age that has also evolve into something much bigger than myself.



Growing up in New York, NY I fell in love with sports at a young age. I was 7 years old when I fell in deep love with baseball and the New York Yankees. It was also the same age I remember waking up in the morning and listening to 1010 WINS with my parents as they got me and my little sister ready for school on weekday mornings. Through time, I later learned that you can listen to sports talk on radio and that is where my life changed. I began to listen to sports radio at age 12, it opened my eyes as to the sports radio industry aa well fueled a fire in my heart & soul.


I never imagined prior to May 2014 that I would move to Boston let alone visit the region that I now call home. Fast forward to February 2017 and my aspirations to break into the sports radio industry in this market were about to come true. Or so I thought.


See, it took 2 years before I got my own sports radio show in this region. Once I began my own radio show and journey, I realize just how much work I need to put in just to even make strides and improve upon my craft. But none of that mattered once I got started. I just wanted to put in work and grind. The grind is something I can say I’m in love with and that I’m genuinely hopefully that I will get my big break in this market.


My ”why” as to why I never gave up despite the trials and tribulations I had to endure and overcome is because I have realized that this isn’t about me anymore. It is about inspiring the next generation of people of color and other ethnic minorities that it is possible to make it big as a full time sports radio host and broadcaster in this tremendous Boston media market.


My biggest ”Why“ as to why I am pursuing my dream and ambition of being a full sports radio host is because I believe in the power of representation. Representation absolutely matters in sports media, and frankly it bothers me that not enough ethnic minorities are given full time opportunities in the Boston sports media landscape. I strongly believe that I can be an inspiration to the many people who look like me that it is possible to become a full time sports radio personality and even sports Television personality in Boston.


Its going to take continuous grind and persistence to break through and get the opportunity ive dreamed of. Dreams can come true, it will take hard work and fierce determination to make it happen.


I believe I can. I believe it will. Time to make it happen!


39 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page